Thoughts on infinity

There’s a blog named: “Of sense and sensibility” that I like a lot. It is very interesting and well written by a very intelligent person. Lately there was a post about the concept of infinity ( https://ofsenseandsensibility.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/the-problem-with-infinity/ ) that got me thinking… You see, this is the thing with smart people, they make you think 😉

The post talks about infinity in the mathematical sense, so I wanted to write just a very few words about infinity from a scientific point of view. For me there are 3 infinities in science:

– The infinitely big, which is studied by astrophysicists

NGC 1300, an example of a barred spiral galaxy (image from wikipedia).

NGC 1300, an example of a barred spiral galaxy (image from wikipedia).

– The infinitely small, that fascinates particle physicists and chemists

streamer-chamber-photo-of-particle-tracks-cern

streamer-chamber-photo-of-particle-tracks-cern

– And the infinitely complex, the study field of biologists

When people ask me what do I study as a scientist, I enjoy replying “The 3rd infinity” 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on infinity

  1. Semilia says:

    Infinity !!???? O.o I’m gonna have nightmares ! My brain’s too small to grab the concept. I’ll have a panic attack….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

